skip to primary navigationskip to content

Rae Langton will be the next Knightbridge Professor

last modified Apr 06, 2017 01:59 PM

We are delighted to confirm that the Board of Electors to the Knightbridge Professorship of Philosophy have elected Rae Langton to be the next Knightbridge Professor with effect from 1 August 2017.

The Knightbridge Professorship of Philosophy is one of the oldest Professorships in Cambridge. It was established in 1683 and was named after John Knightbridge, a fellow at Peterhouse, who gave money for its foundation on his death in 1677.

It has been held by a distinguished line of philosophers. Henry Sidgwick held the post from 1883-1900. The progress of women at Cambridge owes much to the pioneering work done by Henry and Eleanor Sidgwick. It is appropriate that the Faculty is located on Sidgwick Avenue, which is named after both of them.

More recently the professorship has been held by Richard Braithwaite (1953-1967), Bernard Williams (1967-1980), Timothy Smiley (1980-1998), Edward Craig (1998-2006), Quassim Cassam (2007- 2008) and currently Tim Crane, who will be leaving on 31st July 2017.