skip to primary navigationskip to content

Student Representation & Staff Student Committee

Student Representation

The Philosophy Faculty is run by its Faculty Board, which meets twice each term. All of the twelve Philosophy teaching staff are members; and there are representatives from related faculties (Experimental Psychology, HPS and Classics). There are also three student members (two undergraduate and one postgraduate), who are elected in the middle of each Michaelmas Term. They are known as the Student Reps. The Reps are your direct link to the official running of the Faculty. If you have any views or queries, please discuss them with your reps first: they can decide whether to take the matter further, either to the Staff-Student Committee (see below) or to the Faculty Board itself.

The current Student Members on the Faculty Board are:

  • James Ashkettle (Part IA) — Fitzwilliam College
  • Arun Prabhakar (Part IB) - Trinity College
  • Marc Niklas Ernst (MPhil) - St Edmund's College

The reps can be reached on

The current student representatives of the Council of the School of Arts and Humanities are:

  • Undergraduate rep: Sarah Edwards (Gonville & Caius College) -
  • Graduate rep: Syamala Roberts (Jesus College) -

Staff-Student Committee

All philosophy students are automatically members of the Faculty's Staff Student Committee.  It is hoped that at least two representatives from each year group (including postgraduates) will regularly attend. The Committee usually meets once a term, between meetings of the Faculty Board, to consider matters referred to it by the Board, or raised by its members.

A list of Year Delegates is posted on the Faculty Notice-Board. These include the student representatives on the Faculty Board. Students may ask any Committee member or the Year Delegates to raise any matter they wish to be discussed. Staff-Student Committee meeting minutes go to the Faculty Board, which will consider any relevant matter the Committee puts to it: e.g. revision of the Tripos, lecturing arrangements. Items for discussion at Staff-Student Committee Meetings should be sent to the Faculty Office where minutes and other documents are available for reference. 

Student Rep Handover Document - a regularly updated guide for student reps.