skip to content

Faculty of Philosophy


Permanent Teaching Staff

Fixed Term Lecturers

Research Fellows

Affiliated Lecturers

Other Staff

Emeritus Professors


Permanent Teaching Staff

Professor Alexander Bird
Bertrand Russell Professor

Philosophy of Science, Philosophy and History of Medicine, Metaphysics, Epistemology

On research leave from 1st September 2023 - 31st August 2024 (Leverhulme Research Fellowship)

Dr Julia Borcherding
Associate Professor

Early modern philosophy, ethics


Professor Angela Breitenbach
Professor of Philosophy

Chair of The Faculty

(1st Jan - 31st Aug 2024).

Kant, philosophy of science, environmental philosophy, aesthetics

Professor Clare Chambers
Professor of Political Philosophy

Political Philosophy, Feminist Philosophy, Social Philosophy, Bioethics

On sabbatical leave in Lent Term 2024

Dr Sophia Dandelet

Assistant Professor and Sidgwick Lecturer

Epistemology, Ethics. Also interests in Feminist Philosophy.

Dr Neil Dewar

Associate Professor

Philosophy of Physics, Philosophy of Science, Logic


Dr Sarah Fine

Associate Professor

Political Philosophy, Ethics, History of Social and Political Philosophy


Professor Richard Holton
Professor of Philosophy

Moral Psychology, Ethics, Philosophy of Law and Philosophy of Language



Professor Rae Langton
Knightbridge Professor of Philosophy

History of Philosophy, Ethics, Political Philosophy, Metaphysics and Feminist Philosophy


Dr Jessie Munton
Associate Professor


Philosophy of mind, Epistemology, and Philosophy of Psychology

On sabbatical leave in Lent Term 2024


Professor Alex Oliver
Professor of Philosophy

Logic, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Mathematics

On sabbatical leave in Easter Term 2024

Professor Michael Potter
Professor of Logic

Philosophy of Mathematics, Philosophical Logic, History of Analytic Philosophy




Fixed Term Teaching Staff

Colette Olive
Teaching Associate

Aesthetics, Ethics, Kant, Post-Kantian Philosophy, Continental Philosophy

Dr Will Hornett
Teaching Associate

Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Action, Metaphysics

Dr Christopher Masterman
Teaching Associate

Metaphysics, Logic, and Philosophy of Language



Research Fellows 

Dr Farbod Akhlaghi
Junior Research Fellow
Christ's College

Ethics, Meta-Ethics, (Meta-)Metaphysics


Suf Amichay
Junior Research Fellow
Trinity Hall

Medieval Philosophy (Hebrew, Arabic and Latin), Philosophy of Science, Metaphysics

Dr Alexander Bryan
Isaac Newton Trust Career Development Research Fellow 

Magdalene College and Newnham College

Political Philosophy, Ethics
Dr Lea Cantor
Junior Research Fellow     
Ancient (Greek and Roman) philosophy; Chinese philosophy; comparative philosophy; historiography of philosophy

Dr Laura Caponetto
Sarah Smithson Research Fellow     
Newnham College

Philosophy of Language, Feminist Philosophy, Social Philosophy

Dr Nathan Cofnas
Leverhulme Early Career Research Fellow 

Philosophy of biology, ethics

Jacopo Domenicucci
Junior Research Fellow
Emmanuel College 

Risk and practical rationality

Dr Michael Gabbay
Research Fellow funded by International Federation of Computational Logic

Logic, Philosophy of Mathematics

Dr Maiya Jordan
British Academy Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Philosophy of Mind, Phenomenology, Moral Psychology

Paula Keller
Junior Research Fellow

Jesus College

Feminist Epistemology, Political Philosophy, and Philosophy of Language
Dr Louis Klee
Assistant Professor
Trinity Hall

Aesthetics, Philosophy of Literature, Continental Philosophy, Ethics, Political Philosophy

Dr Kamil Majcherek
Junior Research Fellow
Trinity College

Medieval Philosophy, Early modern philosophy, Metaphysics
Dr Chiara Martini
Junior Research Fellow
Corpus Christi College
Ancient Philosophy of Physics and Mathematics

Dr Benjamin Marschall
Junior Research Fellow
Trinity College

History of Analytic Philosophy, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Language 

Professor John Marenbon
Senior Research Fellow
Trinity College

Medieval Philosophy

Dr Lukas Meier
Junior Research Fellow 
Churchill College

Philosophy of Medicine, Philosophy of Mind, Personal Identity, Ethics of Artificial Intelligence

Dr William Simpson
Junior Research Fellow
St Edmund's College 

Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Physics, and Metaphysics




Affiliated Lecturers

Dr Marina Frasca-Spada
Affiliated Lecturer


History of early modern philosophy
Dr John Filling
Affiliated Lecturer

Ethics, Political Philosophy, Hegel, Marx


Other Staff

Dr Claire Benn
Assistant Professor
Leverhulme Centre for the Future of Intelligence
Ethics both normal and applied, and philosophy of technology

Dr Stephen Cave
Leverhulme Centre for the Future of Intelligence

Applied ethics, ontology, philosophy of technology
Dr Spencer Johnston
Philosophy Subject Convenor (Undergraduate Admissions)
History and philosophy of logic



Emeritus Professors

Professor Simon Blackburn
Emeritus Professor

Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Language and Philosophy of Psychology

Professor Raymond Geuss
Emeritus Professor 

Political and Social Thought, Aesthetics

Professor Jane Heal
Emeritus Professor 

Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Language

Professor Onora O'Neill
Emeritus Honorary Professor

Immanuel Kant, Political Philosophy, Ethics: Obligations and Rights; Justice and Virtues, Bioethics
Professor Huw Price
Emeritus Professor
Pragmatism, Philosophy of Physics, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Language
Professor T.J. Smiley
Emeritus Professor
Logic, Philosophical Logic, Aristotle